Scouts win school’s 13th field hockey state championship

Back to Article
Back to Article

Scouts win school’s 13th field hockey state championship

Kyle Wix

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

GLENVIEW, Ill.– The Lake Forest Scouts and head coach Catherine Catanzaro started the 2017 field hockey team with lofty expectations: a state title. Another state title for Lake Forest would mean the 13th championship in the school’s history and their second consecutive title trophy, having defeated New Trier in the championship game a year ago.

And with 18:55 left in the first half of play, the Scouts could see their season expectation blossoming into fruition. It was at that time that sophomore Gracie McGowan found the back of the net to help propel the Scouts to an early lead over the North Shore Country Day Raiders. From there–as nerve-wrecking as a one goal lead can be to have–the Scouts never let off on the attack. Despite maintaining possession and overall control of the game for most of the first half, the Scouts’ lead was still at one when the halftime horn blew at Glenbrook South’s Titan Field.

In the second half, after a hard-fought scoreless battle for the first portion of the half, one of the Scouts’ captains stepped up. Catherine Nicholson, a University of Iowa commit who will join the many other talented All-Staters before her as one of the most decorated field hockey athletes in Lake Forest High School history, put one through for the Scouts to secure a 2-0 lead.

Scouts win school's 13th field hockey state championshipFrom there, the Scouts knew exactly what to do. Goalie Barbara Canty and her defense–who have been stellar and steady for the Scouts all season long–were able to maintain the shutout until the final horn. The Lake Forest Scouts became the 2017 state champions of the Illinois Field Hockey Association. Congratulations to all of the girls and coaches on a fantastic season.

The program has won titles in 1990, 1992, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013 and 2016 and adds 2017 to this amazing record.

All of the following girls played significant roles on this year’s state championship squad:

Ava Caputo, Sophie Metzger, Julia Hender, Gracie McGowan, Allison Quackenbush, Madden Plante, Logan Hanekamp, Eleanor VanAntwerp, Sydney Steinberg, Maggie Mick, Charlotte Domittner, Natalie Notz, Cat Nicholson, Julia Kuetemeyer, Bridget McGreevy, Olivia Douglass, Addie Sidles, Sarah Considine, Elisabeth Domittner, Casey Slingerland, Barbara Canty.