2020 MLB Awards



Ryan Cassidy, Staff Writer

The 2020 MLB season was definitely different compared to previous seasons. Shortened season, games postponed due to Covid, and Empty stadiums were all downsides during this anomaly of a season. Aside from these low points came high points, the LA Dodgers were crowned World Series Champions for the first time since 1988, new rules like the universal DH were experimented with, and the season was filled with action and star studded baseball. Despite the shortened season, the best ball players in the world still competed and made names for themselves. Here are the MLB’s 2020 award winners.


The Most Valuable Player award is given to the player in each league that is believed to have been the best and most impactful player all season. Two of these awards are handed out each year, one for the best player in the American league, and one to the best player in the National League. The award is handed out by the Baseball Writers Association of America. 

American League MVP

Chicago White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu won the American League MVP this season. Abreu managed to help lead the Sox to their first postseason appearance since 2008. The MVP batted an astounding .317, had 19 home runs, led the AL with 60 RBIs, and a WAR of 2.8. Abreu became the first White Sox player to win the award since Hall of Famer Frank Thomas in 1994. 


National League MVP

Another first baseman won the MVP award in the National League. Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman was most deserving and won this year’s NL MVP. Freeman led the Braves to an NL East Division title, and a shot at the National League Pennant. The MVP had an average of .341, hit 13 home runs, drove in 53 runs, and had a WAR of 2.9. Being in contention for the MVP is nothing new for Freeman, this is his fourth time finishing in the top five in MVP voting. In 2020, he finally won.


Cy Young 

The Cy Young award is given to the best pitchers each year in Major League Baseball, one from each league. The award is named after Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young. This is the highest award you can receive as a Major League Pitcher.

AL Cy Young

Cleveland Indians Pitcher Shane Bieber won the American League Cy Young award this year. Bieber led the Indians and their starting pitching staff to playoff berth in 2020. Despite finishing third in the American League Central, Bieber still dominated with the Indians. Bieber had a record of 8-1 in 2020, an ERA of 1.63, and struck out 122 batters. Bieber was the unanimous winner in the AL since 2011.


NL Cy Young

Another Central Division pitcher won the Cy Young this year in the National League. Trevor Bauer of the Cincinnati Reds dominated this season and was well deserving of this award. The Reds snuck their way into the playoffs this year behind Bauer’s efforts. However, Bauer’s 7.2 scoreless innings in their first playoff game was not enough for them to advance. Bauer went 5-4 in 2020, had an earned run average of 1.73, and struck out 100 batters. The 2020 NL Cy Young is a free agent this year, and many teams will be willing to pay for his talents.


Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year award is another award that is handed out by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. This award is given to the best rookie from both the American League and the National League. This award can be thought of as the MVP award for rookies. 


American League ROY

Seattle Mariners rookie Kyle Lewis won the American League Rookie of the Year this season. Lewis led the strugglin Mariners with a batting average .262, hit 11 home runs, and had 28 RBIs. Lewis was the second rookie ever to lead his team in batting average. The 25 year-old earned all 30 votes from the Writers’ Association and was the 12th unanimous decision ever. Lewis will try and lead his Mariners in the right direction after a tough 2020 season.


National League ROY

This year’s National League Rookie of the Year was Brewers pitcher Devin Williams. William’s was the star of Milwaukee’s bullpen this year. The rookie of the year put up historical numbers, William’s struck out 53% of the batters he faced. Also, Williams had an earned run average of 0.33 and had a WHIP of 0.630. The Brewers pitcher was the first relief pitcher to win the rookie of the year since 2011.


Gold Glove

The Gold Glove award is awarded to the player that is thought to be the best fielder at their position during a season. For example, the player thought to be the best shortstop in the American League would win the American League Gold Glove for shortstops. There are 18 of these awards handed out each year, nine from each league. 

American League 

P- Griffin Canning (LAA)

C- Roberto Pérez (CLE)

1B- Evan White (SEA)

2B- Cesar Hernandez (CLE)

3B- Isiah Kiner-Falefa (TEX)

SS- J.P Crawford (SEA)

LF- Alex Gordon (KC)

CF- Luis Robert (CHW)

RF- Joey Gallo (TEX)


National League

P- Max Fried (ATL)

C- Tucker Barnhart (CIN)

1B- Anthony Rizzo (CHC)

2B- Kolten Wong (STL)

3B- Nolan Arenado (COL)

SS- Javier Báez (CHC)

LF- Tyler O’Neill (STL)

CF- Trent Grisham (SD)

RF- Mookie Betts (LAD)


Silver Slugger

The Silver Slugger award is another award that is awarded based on position. Just like the Gold Glove, there are 18 awarded each season. This award is given to the best offensive player from each position from each league. 

American League 

C- Salvador Perez  (KC)

1B- José Abreu (CHW)

2B- DJ LeMahieu (NYY)

3B- José Ramírez (CLE)

SS- Tim Anderson (CHW)

OF- Teoscar Hernández (TOR)

OF- Eloy Jiménez (CHW)

OF- Mike Trout (LAA)

DH- Nelson Cruz (MIN)

National League 

C- Travis d’Arnaud (ATL)

1B- Freddie Freeman (ATL)

2B- Donovan Solano (SF)

3B- Manny Machado (SD)

SS- Fernando Tatis Jr. (SD)

OF- Ronald Acuńa Jr. (ATL)

OF- Mookie Betts (LAD)

OF- Juan Soto (WAS)

DH- Marcell Ozuna (ATL)