Young Idea Volume LXXII Released


Jimmy Juliano

This week, the 72nd edition of Young Idea will be released to students during English classes. Young Idea is the annual Lake Forest High School art and literary magazine featuring original student writing and pieces selected by members of the Young Idea club. The club meets once a week throughout the school year to discuss and critique student literary submissions for the ultimate publication of the magazine.

Much of the literary content is of the fiction variety. The magazine includes poems, short stories, and artwork; impressively, the ideas are organically produced by the young authors of Lake Forest High School.

Additional copies are available for purchase. The price is $32.00, and checks should be made out to Lake Forest High School. Please see Mr. Juliano in the library if you’re interested in owning this year’s edition.

Young Idea is sponsored by faculty advisors Dr. Mara Dukats and Mr. Jimmy Juliano. The editors and critique staff includes Michael Burdiak, Eleanor Colligan, Teresa Fawcett, Clara Finley, Rebecca Guo, Kristina Honour, John Hopkins, Kiley Kennedy, Mary Kennelly, Sarah Larimer, Kelsey Marx, Skye Miller, Olivia Sabalaskey, and Julian Sado. The group would also like to thank Ms. Wendy Antrim, Ms. Carolyn Bielski, and Mr. Corey Holmer for all of their hard work throughout the process.

This year’s authors include (in order of their appearance in the magazine): Skye Miller, Alex Ma, Nancie Kung, Kate Stephenson, Evalyn Bentley, Clara Finley, Victoria Walsh, Teresa Fawcett, Elizabeth Kelley, Clare Lawler, Olivia Sabalaskey, Eleanor Colligan, Francesca Mancini, Abby Bentley, Kristina Honour, Megan Szostak, James Sugrue, Tristan Suellentrop, Bradley Berklich, and Sarah Larimer.

This year’s artists include (in order of their appearance in the magazine): Gabriel Rickabaugh, Tara Brunner, Lindley Wiesner, Caroline Crawford, Mary Kennelly, Blake Talwar, Shannon Elesh, Katrina Fabbri, Elizabeth Kelley, Madalyn Javier, Eleanor Colligan, Allison Quackenbush, Olivia Sabalaskey, Ali Hashim, Sheridan Young, Allie Wickman, Rebecca Guo, Jane Nugent, Elena Erkenswick, and Paula Fabre.